Tuesday, January 12, 2021

Watch: White Flowers Reveal "You Caught Me" Music Video

Preston, UK dreampop/noir pop/post punk/shoegaze band White Flowers (Katie Drew and Joey Cobb) have revealed the video for their newest single "You Caught Me".

The song serves as the title track of their forthcoming EP 'Within a Dream', which will be out on January 15 via Tough Love. Pre-order your copy here.

Watch/listen below.

New Entry: Mush Unleash New Single "Seven Trumpets"

Leeds art rock/post punk band Mush have unleashed their new single "Seven Trumpets".

The song is taken from their forthcoming sophomore album 'Lines Redacted', set to be released on February 12th 2021 via Memphis Industries. Pre-order your copy here.

"Seven Trumpets" arrives as a buzz of prickly guitar lines knotted around a punctuating rhythm section. Whilst further mining the album's overarching theme of Armageddon, singer-songwriter, Dan Hyndman, provides a call for climate action with his urgent vocal foray, helping to achieve a sound that is in equal bouts celebratory and sarcastic, taking lyrical aim at complacency in the face of danger. 

Speaking about the track, Hyndman says: "'Seven Trumpets" started as a climate change jaunt, but with the plethora of Armageddon scenarios currently on display, it became more about sleepwalking into disaster in a generalised sense. It has a Beefhearty breakdown in the middle."

Stream it below.


Tags: Mush

DMA'S Announce Live Album 'Live at Brixton', Drop "Lay Down" Video

Aussie jangle pop/indie rock trio DMA'S have announced the release of their forthcoming live album, ‘Live At Brixton’, celebrating the one year anniversary of their sold out London O2 Academy Brixton show.

Out on 5th March, the record will be released on a striking smoke-effect pink/orange limited edition double vinyl that also offers an essential souvenir of the event. Its design was inspired by a flare that was set off during the show. It will also be released digitally. Pre-order your copy here.

March 6th, 2020. A sold-out audience fills the O2 Academy Brixton’s cavernous space from wall-to-wall. The lights go down, the crowd erupts into a chant and DMA’S tear into their opening song ‘Feels Like 37’ accompanied by 5000 voices passionately singing along to its killer hook. The band are playing the biggest headline show of their career to date half a planet away from home, yet have conjured the atmosphere of an intimate homecoming celebration.

The O2 Academy Brixton show was immediately hailed as one of the highlights of the band’s career so far, and it has taken on whole new significance given the events that have followed. For many fans it was their final show before live music events were halted. The album offers a chance to reminiscence on the life-affirming power of live shows, and also an inspiring reminder of what we’re all looking forward to returning to. The show’s reputation continued to grow when a much wider international audience watched a full one-off live stream of the set in April 2020. 

DMA’S commented: “Our first ever show in the UK was the opening slot at Brixton Academy so this is just totally emblematic of the support that has grown overseas we are ever grateful for. It’s still the greatest show we have ever played and we will never forget that night. See you all soon! Stay safe.” ‘Live at Brixton’ is today launched with the new live audio and video ‘Lay Down’. A fan favourite from the band’s debut album ‘Hills End’, the track provides a flavour of what to expect with a powerful, high energy performance boosted by a sizzling atmosphere..

Check out the album's tracklist and watch the video for "Lay Down" below.

Live at Brixton Tracklisting:
01. Feels Like 37
02. Dawning
03. Too Soon
04. Hello Girlfriend
05. Silver
06. Time & Money
07. The Glow
08. The End
09. Step Up The Morphine
10. Delete
11. Life Is A Game of Changing
12. In The Air
13. Tape Deck Sick
14. Play It Out
15. Timeless
16. Lay Down
17. Your Low


Tags: DMA's