Thursday, February 15, 2018

Watch: Gift Wrap Premieres Music Video For New Single "Either Way"

Brooklyn punk trio B Boys bassist/vocalist Brendon Avalos experimental solo project Gift Wrap has premiered the video for his new single "Either Way".

The song is the title track from of his upcoming debut album 'Losing Count', set to arrive on March 2nd, pre-order your copy here. We have previously heard the album's title-track "Losing Count".

The video was directed by Heather Strange. Watch it below.

Tags: Gift Wrap

Watch: Big White Share Music Video For New Single "How Did You Find Out"

Sydney new wave/guitar pop band Big White have shared the video for their brand new single "How Did You Find Out".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from their upcoming sophomore album 'Street Talk', set to arrive on March 30th through Spunk! Records (Aus) and Modern Sky USA (North America). Buy it here.

The clip was directed by Spike Vincent. Check out below.

New Entry: Bilk Release Debut Single "Give Up"

Essex indie rock/punk three-piece Bilk have released their infectious debut single "Give Up".

The song is out now and was produced by Rich Turvey (Blossoms, The Coral) at Parr Street Studios, Liverpool. Get it here

With influences ranging from The Jam, The Streets and Arctic Monkeys through to Eminem and Dizzee Rascal, Bilk are a young Indie band inspired by the authentic attitude and message in Hip Hop and Grime, and they write honest songs about the world they live in and the things they go through as teenagers living in modern suburban Britain.

Bilk are: Sol Abrahams (vocals/guitar), Luke Hare (bass), and James Holland (drums).

Lead singer Sol says the track is about: "The idea of not giving up your aim when you've got your surroundings and other things going on in life distracting you. Hence the 'trying not to flop my college course and then get employed" bit".

Stream it below.


Tags: Bilk

Winter Announce New LP 'Ethereality', Watch a Teaser

L.A. based shoegaze/dream pop band Winter have announced the release of their sophomore album titled 'Ethereality'.

The follow-up to 2015's Supreme Blue Dream, will be out on April 6th, and was recorded at Comp-ny studios in Glendale, CA where the band spent 2 and a half weeks recording with Drew Fisher. Pre-order your copy here.

Speaking about the new record, frontwoman Samira Winter, explains: "My ever longing desire to connect with nostalgia and ethereal bliss fueled me to write my second full length record, “Ethereality.”

"As an artist, it’s extremely important for me to be connected with my inner child and to maintain a beginner’s mind when writing songs. A lot of the times I hold on to the first things I come up with and that was very much the case for this record. I wrote all the songs in my bedroom either in LA or Brasil, with the exception of “Black Sea” which came from a jam session, specifically a bass line from my former bassist Joe Holcomb. My bedroom is a space of creative freedom. There is no room for self-consciousness. I love music so much and it genuinely makes me happy, in a way that is hard to put into words, when I come up with beautiful melodies and cool guitar parts. The songs ranged from being about my friendships in college (Alligator), my lovely pet Zoey, a boyfriend that showed me the world of shoegaze (Sunshine Devine) and that cathartic feeling of sadness mixed with nostalgia mixed with beauty that I’d like to call “ethereality”.

Watch a teaser below.


Tags: Winter

Watch: Paradox Obscur Drop Video For "No Tears" (Tuxedomoon cover)

Greek minimal synth/cold wave duo Paradox Obscur (aka Kriistal Ann and Toxic Razor) have dropped the video for their excellent cover version of Tuxedomoon 1978's classic "No Tears".

About the cover and the video, the band posted: "A small tribute to a band that left its time with its versatile artistic expression.. A contemporary idea, with a talented team, consisting of the one and only Dimitris Akrivoulis Voulis in guest vocals and saxophone and the wonderful Antzela Chatzinikola as leading actress in the video!".

Watch/listen below.


Tags: Paradox Obscur

Watch: Field Music Unveil Music Video For "Count It Up"

Sunderland, UK indie rock/pop band Field Music have unveiled the video for their catchy single "Count It Up".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from their sixth studio album ‘Open Here’, which came out earlier this month (2nd February) via Memphis Industries. Buy your copy here.

The video was directed by Andy Martin. Watch it below.

New Entry: Brett Air New Single "Roman Candle"

Washington, DC dream pop/electronic band Brett have aired a lyric video for their next single "Roman Candle".

The song taken from their upcoming new EP 'Half' out March 2018 via on 10K Islands.

Watch/listen below.


Tags: Brett

Watch: Gliss Unleash Music Video For "Plato In The Cave"

Danish/American indie pop duo Gliss have unleashed the video for their current single "Plato In The Cave".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from their latest album 'Strange Heaven', released last week (February 9th) via the duo’s own Kraftwööd Musik Fabrik label. Buy it here.

Watch the video below.

Peace Announce New LP 'Kindness Is The New Rock and Roll'

Birmingham psych-rock/alt band Peace have announced details of their long-awaited third studio album 'Kindness Is The New Rock and Roll'.

The follow-up to 2015's Happy People, was produced by Simone Felice (Bat For Lashes), and will be out on May 4th via Ignition Records. It features recent singles "Power" and "From Under Liquid Glass". 

Vocalist Henry Koisser found it to be a creative experience. He said: “I was a total townie. I spent six months out in an actual forest. It was very Hobbit-ish, very Hobbit-esque. Extremely isolating and scary”.

About working with Simone Felice, the band said: “Simone doesn’t do any sounds. He gets into your soul. He’ll take you into a room and touch your heart, he’ll drive you down into the Catskill Mountains and say, ‘Smell the pines! Go and splash your face in the stream!’ Then he’ll take you back to the studio”.

Pre-order the album here, check out the tracklist and re-visit "Power" below.

01. Power
02. Kindness Is The New Rock And Roll
03. Silverlined
04. You Don’t Walk Away From Love
05. From Under Liquid Glass
06. Magnificent
07. Angel
08. Shotgun Hallelujah
09. Just A Ride
10. Choose Love


Tags: Peace

New Entry: The Drums Premiere New Single "Meet Me In Mexico"

Brooklyn indie rock/pop/alt outfit The Drums have premiered their new single  "Meet Me In Mexico".

The song is out today (February 15) via Anti-Records.  Grab your copy here.

Have a listen below.


Tags: The Drums

Watch: Deap Vally Share Music Video For "Grunge Bond"

L.A. indie rock band Deap Vally have shared the video for their punchy single "Grunge Bond".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from their 2016 album 'Femejism'. Grab it here.

Watch the video below.