Friday, January 27, 2017

New Entry: Great Ytene Unleash New Single "Fixed Victim"

London psych/post punk band Great Ytene have unleashed their new single "Fixed Victim".

The song is taken from Taken from 's forthcoming LP 'Locus', released February 17th 2017 via Faux Discx. Pre-order your copy here.

"If you are looking for like-minded contemporary peers then look no further than the grey and black post-punk of the likes of Disappears and Preoccupations. At times waves of noise are underpinned by tight, rigid rhythms, at others they’re allowed to spill over the edges to create disquiet landscapes."

Stream it below.


New Entry: The Vryll Society Premiere New Single "Sacred Flight"

Liverpool indie rock/psych band The Vryll Society have premiered their excellent new single "Sacred Flight".

The song "is a motoric journey into cosmic space jolting atoms of sound from one galaxy to another before finally exploding into a jewel box of guitar frenzied litany”.

UPDATE 30/01/2017: "Sacred Flight" is our new Single of the Week!

It is out today (January 27) via Deltasonic Records.

Buy it here and stream it below.


New Entry: Tourists Release New Single "Masquerade"

UK dream pop/indie/psych band Tourists have released their atmospheric new single "Masquerade".

Tourists are Jamie Giles, Scott Morton, Matthew White, Lloyd Bastow, and Tom Wilkinson. The song, produced by James Bragg (Gengahr/Saltwater Sun/Grace Lightman), is out today (27 January).

Have a listen below.


Tags: Tourists

Watch: The Buttertones Drop Music Video For "Sadie's A Sadist"

Los Angeles rock n' roll/punk/surf garage band The Buttertones have dropped the video for their new single "Sadie's A Sadist".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from their debut album 'Gravedigging', sert to arrive on March 31 via innovative Leisure. Pre-order your copy here.

The video was directed by Alex LeGolvan. Watch it below.


Tags: The Buttertones

Jamiroquai Announce New LP 'Automaton', Share Video For TitleTrack

British electronic/future funk/acid jazz outfit Jamiroquai have announced they will release their 8th studio album 'Automaton' on March 31st.

The follow-up to 2010’s 'Rock Dust Light St', was written and self-produced by Jay Kay and Jamiroquai keyboard player Matt Johnson. Pre-order your copy here.

ABout the record, frontman Jay Kay explains: The inspiration for ‘Automaton’ is in recognition of the rise of artificial intelligence and technology in our world today and how we as humans are beginning to forget the more pleasant, simple and eloquent things in life and in our environment including our relationship with one another as human beings".

Scroll down to watch the futuristic video for the title track, which was directed by Charlie Lightening who has previously worked with Arcade Fire and Bjork.

01. Shake It On
02. Automaton
03. Cloud 9
04. Superfresh
05. Hot Property
06. Something About You
07. Summer Girl
08. Nights Out In The Jungle
09. Dr Buzz
09. We Can Do It
10. Vitamin
11. Carla


New Entry: The Lightning Year Unveil Debut Single "Endless Memory"

London psych pop/electronic pop five-piece The Lightning Year have unveiled their catchy debut single "Endless Memory".

The self produced track was mixed by Catherine Marks (Wolf Alice, The Amazons, Foals) and is out now through enigmatic new Manchester/London indie label Nice Swan Records.

Buy it here and stream it below.


Tags: The Lightning Years

The New Pornographers Announce New LP 'Whiteout Conditions', Share "High Ticket Attractions"

Canadian power-pop/indie rock band The New Pornographers have announced the release of their seventh studio album 'Whiteout Conditions'.

The follow-up to 2014’s Brill Bruisers will be out on April 7th via their our own record label Collected Works. Pre-order your copy here.

“Cohesive.” It’s a word New Pornographers founder A.C. Newman still sounds a little bit surprised to say as he describing the band’s seventh album, Whiteout Conditions. It’s a quality that you wouldn’t necessarily intuitively associate with a so-called supergroup that, by its very collective nature, seems bound to have a good deal of stylistic variance built into the formula (or lack of it). Can an outfit built on the appeal of multiple frontmen and frontwomen develop a signature sound after all? Maybe, and maybe better late than never.

“On other records,” says Newman, “it felt like sometimes it was very clear: oh, this is a fast one with me singing, and then the next would be a slow song with Neko (Case) singing. And I’ve always liked that in a White Album kind of way — being a band that just does whatever the hell they want from track to track. But when we did Brill Bruisers (the band’s previous album, released in 2014), it was the first time where I thought: Let’s try to make a cohesive record. Let’s try to give it a sound and see how focused we can make it. And on this record, I think we went a lot farther down that road.”

The band have also shared their new single "High Ticket Attractions". Scroll down for the interactive lyric video (directed by Chris Shier). 

Track Listing:

01. Play Money
02. Whiteout Conditions
03. High Ticket Attractions
04. This Is The World Of Theater
05. Darling Shade
06. Second Sleep
07. Colosseums
08. We've Been Here Before
09. Juke
10. Clockwise
11. Avalanche Alley


Tags: The New Pornographers

Watch: Syd Arthur Premiere Music Video For "No Peace"

British psych rockers Syd Arthur have premiered the video for their current single "No Peace".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from their fourth studio album 'Apricity', released in October last year via Harvest Records. Grab your copy here.

About the track the band said: “No Peace is about information overload. We set out to write an inviting song with a message we can all relate to, a reminder to put that screen down once in a while and experience something more real.”

Watch the video below.


Watch: The Homesick Release Music Video For New Single "St. Boniface"

Dokkum, NL loft-pop/noise pop trio The Homesick (lead by Elias Elgersma aka Yuko Yuko), have released the video for their brand new single "St. Boniface".

The song is taken upcoming debut record 'Youth Hunt' out March 10 on Subroutine Records.

The video clip was directed by Elias Elgersma. Take a look below.