Tuesday, July 12, 2016

Nick McCarthy (Ex-Franz Ferdinand) Starts New Project Manuela, Airs New Single "Cracks in the Concrete"

Days after announcing his departure from Franz Ferdinand, guitarist Nick McCarthy has announced a new project called Manuela with his wife, singer/songwriter Manuela Gernedel. 

The duo have revealed their first single "Cracks in the Concrete", which is out now via Lost Map as a PostMap postcard accompanied of a disco remix b-side by London DJ Nadia Ksaiba. 

About the track, Gernedel said: The line "cracks in the concrete" was partly inspired by the French phrase “sous les páves, la plage!” which came up during the student revolts there in May ’68. Roughly translated it says "there is sand underneath the pavement!". It’s talking about the potential of things breaking and breaking up things. Everything falling apart and you telling yourself that it’s going to work out ("everything is healing").

Stream it below.

New Entry: Toy Cities Release New Single "Basement"

Brooklyn-based post-punk/indie rock trio Toy Cities have released their brand new single "Basement".

The song is the first of their upcoming new EP 'Ocean Bloom', which will be out next week (July 19th) 

Stream it below.


Watch: Zen Mantra Premieres Music Video For "Remember You At All"

Yumi Zouma's Sam Perry solo psych-pop project Zen Mantra has premiered the video for his catchy single "Remember You At All".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from his self-titled album released back in April 15th through Flying Nun Records. Buy your copy here.

The clip was directed by Ben Dodd. Take a look below.


New Entry: Soft Riot Airs New Track "Lovers In A Dangerous Time"

Glasgow-based musician JJD aka Soft Riot has aired his infectious new track "Lovers In A Dangerous Time".

The song is a cover of a song by singer-songwirter Bruce Cockburn, and features on 'Young and Cold Sampler Vol.3' compilation, set to arrive this Friday (July 15) via Young & Cold Records. 

Have a listen to the track below.

New Entry: Belako Drop New Single "Fire Alarm"

Spanish post punk/electronic band Belako have dropped their new single "Fire Alarm".

The song is taken from their second album 'Hamen', released earlier this year via Mushroom Pillow/Belako Rekords. Buy it here.

Stream it below.

New Entry: Roosevelt Shares New Single "Fever"

Cologne based electro-pop singer, songwriter and producer Marius Lauber aka Roosevelt, has shared his new single "Fever".

The song is taken from his forthcoming debut debut album 'Roosevelt', set to be released on 19 August via Greco-Roman / City Slang. Pre-order your copy here.

 Have a listen to the track below.


Watch: Metronomy Unveil Music Video For "Night Owl"

British indie dance band Metronomy have unveiled the video for their latest single "Night Owl".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from taken from their recent album 'Summer 08', out via Because Records. Buy it here.

The video was directed by Quentin Dupieux. Watch it below.