Monday, January 30, 2017

New Entry: Moving Units Share "Disorder" (Joy Division Cover)

Los Angeles indie dance/punk/nu disco band Moving Units have shared their cover version of  Joy Division's classic "Disorder".

The track is taken from their upcoming a compilation album titled 'Collision With Joy Division', which will be out on February 17. Pre-order your copy here.

UPDATE 06/02:  "Disorder" is our new Single Of The Week!

About the song, band member Blake Miller told: "'Disorder' is the first song I remember really being haunted by when I bought the Unknown Pleasures album on cassette as a teenager. After producing four original albums and touring for 15 years, it felt exciting to delve into an album of songs by one of the bands that inspired our sound and vision over a decade ago.”

Stream it below.


Watch: Great Ytene Release Music Video For "Locus"

London psych/post punk band Great Ytene have released the video for "Locus".

The song is part of our current playlist and is the title track from their forthcoming LP 'Locus', set to arrive on February 17th 2017 via Faux Discx. Pre-order your copy here.

Watch the clip below.


New Entry: Letting Up Despite Great Faults Air New Single "Pageantry"

Austin, TX-based indie pop/dream pop band Letting Up Despite Great Faults have aired their new single "Pageantry".

The song is taken from their forthcoming new EP 'Alexander Devotion', set to be released on February 10 via Shelflife Records (US), Heist Or Hit Records (EU/UK).

Listen below.


Tags: Letting Up Despite Great Faults

New Entry: PINS Drop New Single "Aggrophobe" Feat. Iggy Pop

Manchester post punk, noir pop band PINS have dropped their new single "Aggrophobe" Feat. Iggy Pop.

The song is taken from their forthcoming new EP 'Bad Thing', which will be out on March 24 via House Of Pins. Pre order on LTD edition 12" pink vinyl now here.

Stream it below.

Watch: Moon Duo Unleash Music Video For "Cold Fear'"

San Francisco psych rockers Moon Duo have unleashed the video for their trippy single "Cold Fear".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken  from their upcoming album 'Occult Architecture Vol. 1', which will be out on February 3 via Sacred Bone Records. Pre-order your copy here.

The video was directed by Micah Buzan. Watch it below.

Midlake, Band of Horses, Franz Ferdinand, Travis, Supergroup BNQT Announce Debut Album, Stream "Restart"

BNQT, the new indie-supergroup formed by members of Midlake, Grandaddy, Band of Horses, Franz Ferdinand, and Travis, have announced they will release their debut album 'Volume 1.' on April 28 via Dualtone/Bella Union.

BNQT is conceived and led by Eric Pulido of Midlake and featuring Ben Bridwell of Band of Horses, Alex Kapranos of Franz Ferdinand, Fran Healy of Travis, Jason Lytle of Grandaddy with backing from other Midlake members McKenzie Smith (drums), Joey McClellan (guitar) and Jesse Chandler (keys).

The concept of BNQT (pronounced “Banquet”) came to Pulido while touring for Midlake's 2013 release, 'Antiphon.' Gathering a number of contrasting yet complementary artists he’d befriended or shared the stage with, Pulido set out to establish a new creative environment untethered from other work – “Like a poor man’s version of the Traveling Wilburys!” he says.

"That's what art is about for me," Pulido continues, "creating with other people that you love and appreciate."

Pre-order the album here, check out the tracklsit and have a listen to lead single "Restart" below.

Volume 1 Tracklist:

01. Restart
02. Unlikely Force
03. 100 Million Miles
04. Mind Of A Man
05. Hey Banana
06. Real Love
07. Failing at Feeling
08. L.A. On My Mind
09. Tara
10. Fighting The World


Post War Glamour Girls Announce New LP 'Swan Songs', Stream "Chipper"

Leeds art-rock/post punk band Post War Glamour Girls have announced they will release their new album 'Swan Songs', on 21st April via Hide and Seek Records. 

The follow up to 2015's ‘Feeling Strange’, was recorded in the remote village of Skerray on the North Coast of Scotland, with producers Jamie Lockhart and Lee Smith of Greenmount Studios (The Cribs, Pulled Apart By Horses). Pre-order your copy here.

About the record, frontman and lyricist James Smith, explained Dork: "We decided with this album that we wanted to get lost during the recording process, to let it consume us entirely throughout. No distractions from our day to day lives. No dashing mid-take to get to work on time. No phone calls from our landlords. No other commitments. Just two solid weeks of living it.

"This record is the product of the band’s dependence on each other in isolation, it is a record of peace, love and understanding." he added.

Listen to the lead single "Chiper" here and check out the tracklist below.

Track listing:
01. Guiding Light
02. Chipper
03. Gull Rips A Worm To Rags
04. Organ Donor
05. Big Trip
06. Pollyanna Cowgirl
07. Golden Time
08. Sea Of Rains
09. Welfare By Prozac
10. Divine Decline

New Entry: Flyte Premiere New Single "Echoes"

London indie rock/pop band Flyte have premiered their lovely new single "Echoes".

About the track, frontman Will Taylor told thebeatjuice: "We wanted to start with something thoughtful and introspective. Echoes is a turning, twisting melody about trying to hold on to meaning, living in the afterglow of a significant moment in time."

It is the first to be taken from their upcoming debut album. Have a listen below.


Watch: Beach Baby Air Music Video For "Smoke Won't Get Me High"

London based alternative/jangle pop outfit Beach Baby have aired the video for their current single "Smoke Won't Get Me High".

The song is part of our current playlist and is taken from their debut full-length album 'No Mind No Money', released in September last year via Island Records/Caroline Records. Grab it here.

Watch the clip below.