Tuesday, February 20, 2018

New Entry: Confidence Man Air New Single "Don't You Know I'm In A Band"

Brisbane electro pop/funk band Confidence Man have aired their brand new single "Don't You Know I'm In A Band".

The song is taken from their upcoming new album 'Confident Music For Confident People', set to arrive on April 13 via heavenly Recordings.  

ABout the track, Janet Planet said: "We wrote this song for people who think they're really cool just because they're in a band. People like us."

Sugar Bones added: "Don't you know? Didn't you know? Well if you didn't know by now you should do your homework. Being in a band is the coolest and it ain't ever gonna change."

Take a listen below.


Tags: Confidence Man

Second Still Announce New EP 'Equals', Stream New Single "Opening"

Los Angeles post punk/cold wave band Second Still have announced the release of their new EP titled 'Equals'.

The five-track EP,  was written over a period of six months, and recorded in various rehearsal spaces and makeshift studios around Los Angeles. It will be out on April 20th via Belgian label Weyrd Son Records.

Equals sees the band evolving their sound and progressing forward into sonically uncharted territory.

The four main components of the band’s signature sound are still there –chorus and delay-heavy guitar, hypnotic bass grooves, heavyweight drum machine beats, and hauntingly beautiful vocal melodies– but they have added a couple analog synthesizers into the arsenal for Equals, mixing a whole new element into their already uniquely realized style of post-punk. Chris King is credited with recording, mixing, and co-producing the EP, and Mike Tierney with the mastering.

Pre-order your copy here, check out the tracklist and listen to their new single "Opening" below.

Equals Tracklist
01. In Order
02. Ashes
03. Automata
04. Opening
05. Altar
06. Walls (Bonus track)



Tags: Second Still

Night Flowers Detail Debut Album 'Wild Notion'

London dream pop band Night Flowers have revealed full details for their upcoming debut album 'Wild Notion'

The 10-track album was written in various London basements and bedsits, and recorded with longtime producer Adam Jaffrey  at his Unwound studio in Hackney. It's a romantic, yearning album that is not afraid to wear its sparkling, pop heart on its sleeve.

It will be out on 13th April through Dirty Bingo Records. Pre-order your copy here.

Vocalist and guitarist Greg Ullyart explains: “A lot of the album deals with time, place and memory. The memory often plays tricks and blurs the lines between present, past and future tense, and sometimes when you’re writing, it’s only with hindsight you can see what you were writing about. The songs put a few demons to bed”.

Check out the tracklist, and re-visit the video for their latest single "Cruel Wind" below.

01. Sandcastles
02. Night Alive
03. Resolver
04. Let Her In
05. Losing The Light
06. Head On
07. Hey Love
08. Unwound
09. Fireworks
10. Cruel Wind

Watch: The White Lakes Air Music Video For "All Night"

Oxford indie rock/alt four-piece The White Lakes have aired the video for their newest single "All Night".

The song is part of our current playlist and is out now. Buy it here.

Watch the video below.


Watch: ISLAND Unleash Music Video For "Ride"

London indie rock/alt band ISLAND have unleashed the video for their latest single "Ride".

The song is part of your current playlist and is taken from their forthcoming debut album 'Feels Like Air’, set to be released on 6 April 2018 through Frenchkiss Records. Pre-order you copy here.

The video was shot by Tom Pollard, Vince Lee and Adrian Lee. Take a look below.


Tags: Island

New Entry: Lusts Return With New Single "Heavy Thoughts"

Leicester alternative/new wave duo Lusts (aka brothers Andy and James Stone) have returned with their brand new single "Heavy Thoughts".

With lyrics partly inspired by J.G Ballard’s High Rise, Andrew speaks on the track:

“We always want to juxtapose ideas and themes — looking for a utopia in the darkness. We wanted to create a song that simultaneously revelled in destructiveness, whilst also critiquing it. The book really shocked me growing up, and continues to do so. This track is about pushing us to explore parts of ourselves and the people around us.”

The track was also inspired by the immersive visuals of Andrei Tarkovsky’s Stalker, James saying:

“As writers, we’re constantly drawn to how visual imagery can explain a feeling in a more honest and visceral way than a description ever could. We want to create alternative landscapes and worlds to dive into and lose yourself for awhile.”

The band released their debut album 'Illuminations' in 2015.

Buy the single here and stream it below.