Thursday, February 12, 2015

Wire Announce New Album, Stream "Joust & Jostle"

Seminal UK post-punk band Wire have announced they will release their 13th studio album, simply entitled 'Wire', in April 21 through their own pinkflag imprint.

According to a press release, the self-titled effort comprises material that was written with the album in mind, but toured extensively first, as well as songs that singer and guitarist Colin Newman introduced to the group in the studio just prior to recording. The idea was to get the most spontaneous reaction possible from the musicians, and far from the rough and ready results one might expect from such a tack, Wire is full of swooning pop melodies with a 60s tinge and an irresistible, near motorik rhythmic momentum. One can recognise certain melodic inflections, guitar and bass motifs, and drum rhythms from Wire’s idiosyncratic vocabulary but it has a remarkable freshness.

The basic tracks were recorded at Rockfield Studios near Monmouth, with overdubs added at Brighton Electric last December following the group’s DRILL : BRIGHTON Festival. The 11 tracks selected for release were the ones that came together most naturally. Pre-order your copy here.

The band are also streaming the album's lead single "Joust & Jostle". Check out the tracklist and listen to the track below.

Wire Tracklist:
01. Blogging
02. Shifting
03. Burning Bridges
04. In Manchester
05. High
06. Sleep-Walking
07. Joust & Jostle
08. Swallow
09. Split Your Ends
10. Octopus
11. Harpooned