Monday, October 02, 2017

Soft Riot Announces New LP 'The Outsider In The Mirrors', Watch a Trailer

Glasgow-based synth pop/electronic/minimal/dark wave musician JJD aka Soft Riot has announced the release of his new album titled 'The Outsider In The Mirrors'.

This is the sixth full-length release by Soft Riot, and the second release on Possession Records, a Glasgow-based label run by JJD along with friends Claudia Nova (Hausfrau) and Andy Brown (Ubre Blanca). It will be out on February 9, pre-order your copy here.

JJD has clocked in around twenty years of musical output in various bands and projects, including half a dozen art-damaged punk and hardcore bands as well as first-wave post-punk revivalists Radio Berlin. Moving from Vancouver to London UK in the late 2000s, Soft Riot came into full being, having released a couple of acclaimed albums and EPs and staging numerous tours around Europe.

His sound is an amalgamation of JJD’s personal experience with music, containing elements of synthesiser-based film soundtracks, romantic italo-style flourishes, and angular, psychedelic synth-pop all tied together with an underlying tension. It is a science-fiction heavy soundscape that narrates the listener through today’s fractured, excessive landscape with hints of black humour.

All tracks recorded by JJD in sessions from August 2015 until January 2017 at Studio 159 (Sheffield) and Studio 29 (Glasgow). Mixed by JJD at Studio 29 (Glasgow) and Berkeley 2 (Glasgow) in sessions between January 2017 and July 2017 with some assistance from Josh Longton. Pre-orders start 16 October with shipping coming shortly after that.

Check out the record's tracklist, watch a promotional film and listen a sampler below.

01. The Eyes On The Walls
02. Keep Your Eyes On The Prize
03. Now World Romancer
04. Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
05. You See How They Burn
06. He’s Gone Underground
07. The Saddest Music In The World
08. The Outsider In The Mirrors

No comments:

Post a Comment