Tuesday, August 07, 2018

Sextile Announce New EP '3', Share New Single "Paradox" Video

Los Angeles post punk band Sextile have announced the release of their new EP '3'.

The EP follows up their 2017 album 'Albeit Living', it was recorded in Los Angeles at their home and practice space using a KORG MS-10, a sequencer, a Fender Stratocaster, a LinnDrum, and various percussion instruments. It will be out on September 14 through Felte Records. Pre-order your copy here.

After numerous lineup changes, the now two-piece comprised of Brady Keehn and Melissa Scaduto have shifted toward a minimalist approach that’s as heavy hitting as ever. Now favoring synths over guitars, they haven't thrown out the strings completely.

Finding inspiration in futurist writer Luigi Russolo's "The Art of Noises," the pair employs a sonic palette that mirrors the chaos of the modern industrial era. Sextile excels at regulating noise, whether the source is a percussive clang, guitar stab, synth trill, or Keehn's militant vocals. Throughout '3,' bursts of abrupt discord punctuate thumping rhythms and hypnotic bass sequences. While the appropriately titled "Disco" is a club-worthy opener, "Spun" delivers the signature Sextile sound with rowdy, squealing guitars.

'3' places the band's sound somewhere between DAF and Gang of Four, but it's that tinge of futurism and the observations of the current political climate that steer them right to the present. It's the explosive sound of now – it's punk that can hold down a dance floor.

Check out the EP's tracklist and watch the video for their addictive new single "Paradox", below.

01. Disco
02. Drop You
03. Paradox
04. Spun
05. Hazing

UPDATE 13/10/2018: "Paradox" is our new Single of the Week!


Tags: Sextile

No comments:

Post a Comment