Friday, January 27, 2017

The New Pornographers Announce New LP 'Whiteout Conditions', Share "High Ticket Attractions"

Canadian power-pop/indie rock band The New Pornographers have announced the release of their seventh studio album 'Whiteout Conditions'.

The follow-up to 2014’s Brill Bruisers will be out on April 7th via their our own record label Collected Works. Pre-order your copy here.

“Cohesive.” It’s a word New Pornographers founder A.C. Newman still sounds a little bit surprised to say as he describing the band’s seventh album, Whiteout Conditions. It’s a quality that you wouldn’t necessarily intuitively associate with a so-called supergroup that, by its very collective nature, seems bound to have a good deal of stylistic variance built into the formula (or lack of it). Can an outfit built on the appeal of multiple frontmen and frontwomen develop a signature sound after all? Maybe, and maybe better late than never.

“On other records,” says Newman, “it felt like sometimes it was very clear: oh, this is a fast one with me singing, and then the next would be a slow song with Neko (Case) singing. And I’ve always liked that in a White Album kind of way — being a band that just does whatever the hell they want from track to track. But when we did Brill Bruisers (the band’s previous album, released in 2014), it was the first time where I thought: Let’s try to make a cohesive record. Let’s try to give it a sound and see how focused we can make it. And on this record, I think we went a lot farther down that road.”

The band have also shared their new single "High Ticket Attractions". Scroll down for the interactive lyric video (directed by Chris Shier). 

Track Listing:

01. Play Money
02. Whiteout Conditions
03. High Ticket Attractions
04. This Is The World Of Theater
05. Darling Shade
06. Second Sleep
07. Colosseums
08. We've Been Here Before
09. Juke
10. Clockwise
11. Avalanche Alley


Tags: The New Pornographers

No comments:

Post a Comment