Wednesday, May 13, 2020

Silverbacks Announce Debut LP 'Fad', Air New Single/Video "Muted Gold"

Dublin indie punk/alt rock band Silverbacks have announced the release of their debut full-length album 'Fad'.

The 13-track album was recorded with was produced by Girl Band bassist Daniel Fox, and will be out on July 14th via Central Tones. Pre-order your copy here.

With taut rhythms of 70s punk and the freak-outs of NYC no-wave, Silverbacks craft a signature sound spiked with triple guitar riffs and on-the-pulse lyrics.

Fad represents the sound of a band trying to make sense of a noisy and disjointed world - one that competes for your attention at every turn. For them, it has come to be a symbol of what it feels like to try and absorb the world through both fleeting moments in front of screens, and prolonged obsessive periods filled with focus. They pull apart pop-culture in search of new meaning, whether it’s a nod to The Simpsons (Fad 95), imagining a lost John Hughes film (Klub Silberrücken), spiralling downwards into youtube deep-dives (Pink Tide), or making sense of youth culture through The Urban Dictionary (Grinning At The Lid). Much in the same way that modern life can be defined by its unpredictability, Silverbacks colourful, vivid and exuberant songs dismantle their source material and end up in places that you don’t think they will.

The band have also aired their new single "Muted Gold", singer guitarist Daniel O’Kelly comments on the accompanying video: “The video is loosely inspired by early Stereolab music videos. It’s a collection of clips from a few band outings we had near our practice space before the lockdown began. Fun fact, Peadar used to work in a bowling alley. Despite not having played in years he scored 192 on the day we brought the camera.”

UPDATE 18/05/2020: "Muted Gold" is our new Single of the Week!

Check out the album's tracklist and the video for "Muted Gold" below.

Fad tracklisting:
01. Dunkirk
02. Pink Tide
03. Drink It Down
04. Fad ’95
05. Dud
06. Klub Silberrücken
07. Travel Lodge Punk
08. Just In The Band
09. Grinning At The Lid
10. Muted Gold
11. Up The Nurses
12. Madra Uisce
13. Last Orders


Tags: Silverbacks

No comments:

Post a Comment