Thursday, November 17, 2016

Novella Announce New Album 'Change of State', Air Title Track

London-based dream pop band Novella have announced they will be releasing their new album titled 'Change of State' in February 17 via Sinderlyn Records.

The follow-up to last year's debut album 'Land' was recorded over the period of a few months in the Victorian bedroom studio of James Hoare (Ultimate Painting, Veronica Falls) on an old 1960’s 8-track, this set up forced Novella to utilize an economy of sound on Change of State.

Over the course of ten tracks, Novella take the time and space necessary to let the physical and ideological implications behind a changing state run rampant through themes that linger as much in topical discussion as they do in perennial reflections of human experience.

They discovered that there’s beauty in simplicity and restriction as nothing could be gratuitously added or subtracted with the click of a mouse. It lent, what the band call a little Joe Meek magic to the process, and what could have been an added pressure instead gave way to instinct: “The best songs we wrote were written towards the end of the sessions, when we had too little time to think too much about them”.

Pre-order the record here, check out the tracklist and listen to the title track below:

01. Does The Island Know
02. Change Of State
03. Desert
04. Elements
05. A Thousand Feet
06. Thun
07. Come In
08. Four Colours
09. Side By Side
10. Seize The Sun