Thursday, November 17, 2016

Dutch Uncles Announce New Album 'Big Balloon', Stream Title Track

Manchester based indie rock/art pop band Dutch Uncles have announced they will release their fifth studio album titled 'Big Balloon' on 17 February.

The record has taken inspiration from Kate Bush’s The Red Shoes, Low-era David Bowie, Eastern European techno and their own dads’ record collections. Thematically, it’s set to deal with everything from austerity, paranoia and loneliness to fried chicken.

Vocalist and lyricist Duncan Wallis: “The song has a simple message: to be content with who you are. If you need help with that, then don’t be ashamed or frustrated. If other people appear to be doing a better job at being you than you then it means that that’s not you. And that’s okay too.” “As soon as recording began, it felt like the perfect response to the feelings of abandonment we’d been harbouring recently. We see it as the perfect distillation of everything we set out to achieve on the new record.”

Composer and bass player Robin Richards:“The song helped steer the direction of the songs written afterwards which became the album Big Balloon. It reminded us of the potency of the electric guitar, and brought them back as focal instruments on the record.”

Pre-order the album here, check out the tracklist, and have a listen to title track below.

01. Big Balloon
02. Baskin’
03. Combo Box
04. Same Plane Dream
05. Achameleon
06. Hiccup
07. Streetlight
08. Oh Yeah
09. Sink
10. Overton