Tuesday, July 19, 2022

PVA Announce Debut LP 'BLUSH', Stream "Hero Man"

London electronic/dance trio PVA have announced the release of theirhighly-anticipated debut album 'BLUSH'.

Following on from the release of their critically acclaimed single “Untethered”, the album is due out 14th October via Ninja Tune. Pre-order your copy here.

Arriving closely on the heels of their 2020 EP “Toner”, the band’s stunning debut album sees them further consolidating the beating pulse of electronic music with the raw energy of a life-affirming gig and reveals more about the trio than they’ve ever previously shared. The eleven blistering tracks from the group, Ella Harris and Josh Baxter (who share lead vocals as well as handling synths, guitars and production) alongside drummer and percussionist Louis Satchell, are made from a formula of acid, disco, blistering synths, the release of the dancefloor and cathartic sprechgesang post-punk.

New single “Hero Man” offers a freeing and powerful new look into the latest stage of PVA’s musical evolution. The rhythmic track combines ethereal synth lines with propulsive basslines and precise, energetic drumming, whilst Harris’s self-facing lyrics build into the vocal hook of “can’t eat, can’t sleep, can’t go to work, I can’t leave”. Thematically, Harris explains that the song is about “a relationship with yourself that is restrictive and closed off,” going on to say that it is “an expression of this frustrated anger at masculinity and a resentment at being unable to free yourself from that and explore the world.”

Check out the album's tracklist and listen to "Hero Man" below.

BLUSH Tracklist:
1. Untethered
2. Kim
3. Hero Man
4. Interlude
5. Bunker
6. Comfort Eating
7. The Individual
8. Bad Dad
9. Transit
10. Seven (feat. Tony Njoku)
11. Soap


Tags: PVA