Tuesday, April 20, 2021

The Murlocs Announce New LP 'Bittersweet Demons', Stream "Francesca"

Melbourne garage rock/psych band The Murlocs have announced the released of their fifth studio album 'Bittersweet Demons'.

The follow-up to 2019’s Manic Candid Episode, will be out on June 25th through Flightless Records/ATO Records. Pre-order your copy here.

On Bittersweet Demons, The Murlocs share a collection of songs reflecting on the people who leave a profound imprint on our lives, the saviors and hellraisers and assorted other mystifying characters. From the 11 infectious tracks emerges a beautifully complex body of work, one that shines a light on the fragilities of human nature while inducing the glorious head rush that accompanies any Murlocs outing.The video was created by Alex McLaren and Sean McAnulty. 

The band have also shared their new single "Francesca", which was written as a rip-roaring celebration of the rejuvenated life of frontman Ambrose Kenny-Smith’s mom. With music written by Murlocs’ keyboard and guitarist Tim Karmouche, Ambrose says of the lyrics,“The song is about my mother and how she had been lost for love since the separation from my father when I was 10. In the last year and a half or so she’s found love again, with a very close family friend of ours, someone who has always been a godfather and mentor to me in many ways. This has changed her spirit immensely for the better. You can really see the pop in her step as this enormous weight has been lifted off her shoulders.”

Check out the album's tracklist and watch the video for "Francesca", below.

Bittersweet Demons Tracklist:
01. Francesca
02. Dangerous Nature
03. Bittersweet Demons
04. Eating At You
05. Illuminate The Shade
06. No Self Control
07. Skyrocket
08. Skewhiff
09. Limerance
10. Blue Eyed Runner
11. Misinterpreted


No comments:

Post a Comment