Wednesday, January 08, 2020

The Wants Announce Debut LP 'Container', Stream "The Motor"

New York art-pop trio The Wants (featuring Bodega members Madison Velding-VanDam and Heather Elle) have announced the release of their debut studio album 'Container'.

Named after the shipping container which houses their DIY studio, the album will be out on March 13th and "is a meticulously self-produced art pop record, combining elements of post-punk, synth pop, and minimal techno.” Pre-order your copy here.

It includes their previously released song "Fear My Society" and their new single "The Motor". The Wants' Madison Velding-VanDam explains that lyrically it draws influence from the introduction of Lost Highway by David Lynch.

"In it, racing pavement reveals only level white dotted lines shrouded in darkness as David Bowie croons his sinister, 90s industrial art-rock masterpiece, 'I’m Deranged'."

"Taking elements from this, alongside a general feeling of unstoppable locomotion, we arrived at something that captures a mood somewhere between Cybotron's 'Cosmic Cars', Kraftwerk's 'Autobahn', and Nine Inch Nails' 'Closer'."

Check out the album's tracklist and listen to "The Motor" below.

Container Tracklist:
01. Ramp
02. Container
03. Machine Room
04. Fear My Society
05. The Motor
06. Aluminium
07. Ape Trap
08. Waiting Room
09. Clearly A Crisis
10. Nuclear Party
11. Hydra
12. Voltage


Tags: The Wants

No comments:

Post a Comment