Tuesday, February 23, 2016

Wire Announce New Album 'Nocturnal Koreans', Air Title Track

Seminal UK post-punk band  Wire have announced they will release a mini-album titled 'Nocturnal Koreans' on April 22 through the band's own label Pinkflag. 

According to the press release, the follow-up to their last year's self-titled LP "is striking in its diversity, the band fluently negotiating an expansive stylistic range, from immensely catchy pop to ambient introspection and beyond."

Chronicling a sleepless night that Wire spent in a seedy Boston-area hotel on their 2013 US tour, the title track is the kind of charging, urgent tune that’s always been vocalist-songwriter Colin Newman’s forte. 

The lyrics, by bassist Graham Lewis, make this one of guitarist Matthew Simms’s favourites on the record, largely because of the associated memories: "It’s a great snapshot of touring America and when I hear or play that song, it reminds me of the many weird and wonderful times, places and people that cross your path."

Check out the tracklist and stream the track below.

Nocturnal Koreans Tracklist:
01. Nocturnal Koreans
02. Internal Exile
03. Dead Weight
04. Forward Position
05. Numbered
06. Still
07. Pilgrim Trade
08. Fishes Bones


No comments:

Post a Comment