Tuesday, January 26, 2016

Suuns Announce New LP 'Hold/Still', Unveil Music Video For "Translate"

Montreal psych-rockers Suuns have announced they will release their third studio album titled 'Hold/Still' on April 15th via Secretly Canadian

The band have also shared the video for the album's sick lead single "Translate" (directed by Charles-André Coderre).

According to the press release, the record "is an enigmatic thing: an eerily beautiful, meticulously played suite of music that embraces opposites and makes a virtue of cognitive dissonance. It is a record that does not give up its secrets easily. The 11 songs within are simultaneously psychedelic, but austere; sensual, but cold; organic, but electronic; tense sometimes to the brink of mania, but always retaining perfect poise and control."

"There's an element of this album that resists you as a listener, and I think that's because of these constantly opposing forces," says drummer Liam O'Neill. "Listen to the song 'Brainwash', for instance, "It's a very soft, lyrical guitar song, existing alongside extremely aggressive and sparse drum textures. It inhabits these two worlds at the same time." From the beginning, Suuns (you pronounce it "soons", and it translates as "zeroes" in Thai) have sought to do things differently.

Pre-order the album here, check out the tracklsit and the video for "Translate" below.

01. Fall
02. Instrument
03. UN-NO
04. Resistance
05. Mortise and Tenon
06. Translate
07. Brainwash
08. Careful
09. Paralyzer
10. Nobody Can Save Me Now
11. Infinity


No comments:

Post a Comment