Tuesday, June 25, 2013

MGMT Announce Self-titled Third Album Details

Psychedelic indie-pop duo MGMT have finally revealed details of their upcoming self-titled longplayer. 

The follow-up to 2010's Congratulations will be released on September 17 via Columbia Records, featuring ten new tracks. We have already heard "Alien Days', which was premiered on this year's record store day.

According to the press release, the album MGMT finds Andrew VanWyngarden and Ben Goldwasser continuing to push themselves to expand the boundaries of modern pop music. Returning to Tarbox Road Studios to work with longtime collaborator Dave Fridmann (Co-producer and mixer of Oracular Spectacular and Congratulations , The Flaming Lips, Tame Impala), Andrew and Ben experimented with various in-studio writing processes, allowing the music to tell them where it wanted to go. The result is a diverse and powerful collection of 10 songs (including a cover of "Introspection" by 1960’s psych band Faine Jade) that directly mirrors the duo's encompassing surrealist view of the everyday. 

The tracklist is as follows:

01. Alien Days
02. Cool Song No 2
03. Mystery Disease
04. Introspection
05. Your Life Is a Lie
06. A Good Sadness
07. Astro-Mancy
08. I Love You to Death
09. Plenty Of Girls in the Sea
10. An Orphan of Fortune


Tags: MGMT

No comments:

Post a Comment