Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Dinner Announces New Album 'New Work', Airs "Un-American Woman"

Danish-born/L.A-based pop artist Dinner (aka Anders Rhedin), has announced the release of his second full-length album titled 'New Work'.

The follow-up to last year's Psychic Lovers, will be out on September 8 via Captured Tracks.

According to the press release, for this record, Rhedin battled his own perfectionism by pushing himself to collaborate more, think less, and work at a high pace throughout a short and intense period of late-night recording sessions. New Work features collaborations with artists like Charlie Hilton of Blouse and Sean Nicholas Savage.

Dinner enlisted Josh da Costa (Regal Degal, Ducktails) to produce the album with him. He and Josh worked in the nighttime at off-hours at a studio in an industrial part of downtown LA. The album’s songs were recorded on the spot with no preparation time. In-between studio sessions, Dinner recorded and overdubbed material in his apartment on an early 80’s 4-track recorder. “We did very little editing, we just tried to record what was there. You’ll hear a lot of first-takes on the record. The best part of the process was driving home early in the morning though the empty streets of LA, listening to the night’s recordings. Because it was such an immediate experience.”

Dinner have also aired the album's first single "Un-American Woman" today with a video shot in Las Vegas that features Mac DeMarco's brother Hank dancing with his ballet troupe.

In writing "Un-American Woman" (and much of the album), Rhedin was inspired by William Blake's Proverbs of Hell. "'Un-American Woman' is a song I wrote just before I stopped going out, just before I stopped sleeping around with women," he says. "The song seems to be about disillusionment and a fear of being stuck in a certain lifestyle. But it also touches upon the potential transformational aspects of 'bad things.' Nothing's black or white, good or bad. There is just lifeforce moving. A constant movement. 'The road of excess leads to the palace of wisdom,' in the words of Blake. I lifted that line for the song, of course."

Pre order the album here, check out the tracklist and watch the clip for "Un-American Woman"below.

01. Un-American Woman
02. Don't Belong
03. Walk Away
04. Siren Song
05. Marble Eyes
06. Illusions
07. Get Real
08. Copenhagen
09. Waitin'
10. Thwl

No comments:

Post a Comment