Tuesday, January 11, 2022

Mitra Mitra Detail New LP 'Hands Remain', Stream Title Track

Vienna minimal synth/electronic/synth wave duo Mitra Mitra have revealed details of their sophomore full-length album 'Hands Remain'.

The follow-up to their 2018’s hugely well received debut Marionettes, was produced by the duo and will be out on January 17 through Polytechnic Youth. Pre-order it here.

The band was formed in Vienna in late 2014 by Violet Candide and Mahk Rumbae. Originally from New Zealand, Violet Candide has been a fixture of the Vienna post-punk and minimal synth scene for many years as a DJ before making music with Mitra Mitra and her other projects Slow Glass (with Bobby from Low Sea), Peppy Pep Pepper and Violetiger. Whilst British musician Mahk Rumbae is known for his work as a member of the industrial/experimental project Konstruktivists, Oppenheimer MkII (with Andy Oppenheimer of Oppenheimer Analysis) and his solo techno project Codex Empire.

The new LP is their strongest set yet; 'Hands Remain' is perhaps darker in nature than previous MM releases; although mostly completed before the pandemic, it somehow fits the times we live in now. A wonderful 12 track collection hugely recommended to fans of classic era synth pop, early Mute, Cherry Red, Blackwing Studios etc etc.

Check out the album's tracklist and listen to "Hands Remain" and "Insomnia" below.

Hands Remain Tracklist:
02. Memories for Company
03. One and the Same
04. Dormant Carbon Coma
05. Hands Remain
06. Intersection
07. Vertigo
08. Ricochet
09. Monochrome
10. Insomnia 
11. Western Side
12. Gappy Spheres


No comments:

Post a Comment