Wednesday, January 12, 2022

Guerilla Toss Announce New LP 'Famously Alive', Stream "Cannibal Capital"

New York psych/punk/funk band Guerilla Toss have announced the release of their new full-length album  'Famously Alive'.

The follow-up to 2018's Twisted Crystal will be out on March 25 through Sub Pop Records. Pre-order your copy here.

Dig deep enough inside yourself -- start treating your body as your sanctuary rather than your enemy -- and eventually you'll find yourself blooming right back out into the sun. That's the transformation Guerilla Toss trace on Famously Alive. After a decade sprinkling glitter into grit, building a reputation as one of the most ferociously creative art-rock groups working, the band have eased fully into their light. This is Guerilla Toss at their most luminescent -- awake, alive, and extending an open invitation to anyone who wants to soak it all up beside them.

Singer and lyricist Kassie Carlson, multi-instrumentalist Peter Negroponte and guitarist Arian Shafiee wrote Famously Alive at home in the Catskills during the pervading quiet of the pandemic year. The uncertainty of COVID-19 lockdowns and the total disruption of routine forced Carlson to negotiate with herself in new and challenging ways. "You have to be with yourself all the time during the pandemic," she says. "I had to figure out a way to manage my anxiety. The pandemic was hard, but it helped me get comfortable inside my own body. My peace of mind came out of being thrust into the deepest shit. This album is all about being happy, being alive, and strength. It’s meant to inspire people."

New single and album opener "Cannibal Capital" is about the exhaustion and dread of social anxiety, and came together in a flurry toward the end of the album's sessions. Throughout the record, Guerilla Toss meet themselves with curiosity, generosity, and acceptance even for the harder parts of being alive. 

Check out the album's tracklist and the video for "Cannibal Capital" below.

Famously Alive Tracklist:
01. Cannibal Capital
02. Famously Alive
03. Live Exponential
04. Mermaid Airplane
05. Wild Fantasy
06. Pyramid Humm
07. Excitable Girls
08. I Got Spirit
09. Happy Me
10. Heathen In Me


Tags: Guerilla Toss

No comments:

Post a Comment