Thursday, January 13, 2022

Crows Announce New LP 'Beware Believers', Stream "Slowly Separate"

London post-punk/psych band Crows have announced the release of their their highly-anticipated second album 'Beware Believers'.

The follow-up to their 2019 debut 'Silver Tongues', will be out on April 1st via Bad Vibrations Records. Pre-order your copy here.

Following the release of Silver Tongues on the IDLES-run Balley Records in 2019, Crows immediately set to work on its follow-up and by January 2020 they were already back in the studio tracking what would become the ‘Beware Believers’ LP – and then Covid hit. “Once we knew Covid was here to stay, we took the first break we’ve taken since we released our first single ‘Pray’ in 2015. Being locked down for three months unable to finish the last bits of the record was very frustrating but it did mean we could come back to the album with fresh ears and make sure it sounded like it should: a true representation of Crows.” frontman James Cox said.

About the new single "Slowly Separate", he says: "'Slowly Separate' is about living in London, working a job you hate and just going through the mundane routine of hand to mouth living."

"Don't get me wrong, I love London. It’s been my home for 13 years, and this song translates to any city and anytime you're working a job that doesn't fulfil you. When it gets to the end of the month, all your rent and bills come out and you're barely left with enough to get through the next month. It gets to you, I’m sure a lot of people can relate. It just makes it sweeter when you are finally making changes in your life for the better and you can leave those feelings in the past."

Loud, cathartic and abrasive – a quintessential Crows record it certainly is. “Beware Believers has felt like a marathon, a real endurance test that’s been a long, winding road filled with highs and lows and plenty of twists and turns. The majority of the themes on the album came from what was going on in the world around Summer 2019 when we started writing the album. Covid wasn't in our lives and the biggest impact was Brexit and the madness our government were putting us through. I was reading a lot of J.G. Ballard and Kurt Vonnegut, mad dystopian novels, whilst all this craziness was going on around us and it was a weird headspace to get into.” he added.

Check out the album's track list and the watch the video for "Slowly Separate" below.

Beware Believers Tracklist:
01. Closer Still
02. Garden of England
03. Only Time
04. Slowly Separate
05. Moderation
06. Healing
07. Room 156
08. Meanwhile
09. Wild Eyed And Loathsome
10. The Servant
11. Sad Lad 


Tags: Crows

No comments:

Post a Comment