Monday, April 12, 2021

The Polyphonic Spree Announce Surprise Covers Album ‘Afflatus’, Stream "Don't Change"

Texas-based psych pop rock supergroup The Polyphonic Spree have announced the release of a new surprise covers album 'Afflatus'.

This is the band’s first full-length album since 2014’s ‘Psychphonic’, it was recorded live in one evening at the band’s home studio, just before the 2020 lockdown, and features covers of INXS, Daniel Johnston, Rush, Barry Manilow, The Rolling Stones, ABBA, and more. It will be out this Friday, April 16. Pre-order your copy here.

Having just celebrated their 20th anniversary as a band, The Polyphonic Spree are currently at work on a new full-length album of original material, slated for release this fall.

“It was inevitable that the Spree would end up doing this,” said frontman Tim DeLaughter. “We were asked to play a covers show at The Kessler Theater in Dallas and were ready to go, but with the shutdowns starting to happen around the country, we made the last-minute call not to perform. We had all been together for weeks rehearsing, so we decided to get the band together at our home studio and record the entire show live in one take, just to capture it. We knew it was probably going to be the last time we saw each other for a long time, and the next day, everything started to close.”

The record opens with “Don’t Change” by INXS, which the band first performed on their 2010 tour of Australia. “We wanted to pay homage to one of their country’s great artists,” DeLaughter adds, “but it’s also just an awesome song. I love its forward moving, almost gliding feel.”

Check out the album's tracklist and watch the band perform “Don’t Change” by INXS live in-studio, below.

Afflatus tracklist:
01. Don’t Change (INXS)
02. You Put My Love Out The Door (Daniel Johnston)
03. She’s A Rainbow (The Rolling Stones)
04. Run To Me (Bee Gees)
05. The Porpoise Song (The Monkees)
06. Could It Be Magic (Barry Manilow)
07. The Visitors (ABBA)
08. Let Em In (Wings)
09. Never My Love (The Association)
10. The Spirit of Radio (Rush)


No comments:

Post a Comment