Tuesday, February 16, 2021

White Flowers Announce Debut LP 'Day By Day', Stream "Daylight"

Preston, UK dreampop/noir pop/post punk/shoegaze band White Flowers (Katie Drew and Joey Cobb) have announced the release of their new studio album 'Day By Day'.

The 10-track record will be will be released 7th May via Tough Love, featuring their lovely new single "Daylight". Pre-order your copy here.

For the duo, it was only on leaving London to return to their native Preston that the dark-hued dreampop of their debut album, Day By Day, began to crystalize.

"There’s something uniquely bleak about the North,” says Joey, speaking from the abandoned textile mill that White Flowers call home, “but in that bleakness there’s a certain beauty.”

The pair had left Preston for London to study at art college, and it was there that they first began to explore the nascent psych scene bubbling under in the few remaining arts-orientated spaces in the east of the city. It soon inspired them to begin work on music of their own.

“We didn’t want to be a psych band,” explains Katie, "but discovering that music gave us both energy and focus. We’ve spent so many years developing these songs, because I think it was important we waited until White Flowers became its own defined thing."

The pair found that by using equipment they barely understood, they produced their most innovative work. Beginning on GarageBand, they crafted loops that turned into songs, and by the time they’d worked out how to use it, they’d graduated to a drum machine.

Now very much in control, and with a clear and determined focus, the pair began producing music that, whilst leaning into the North’s post-punk past, possessed a vision and depth informed by their own post-industrial Preston experiences.

Daylight’ pushes forward with a prettiness matched by Katie’s oblique, near-glossolalia vocal. “We don’t like it when things are clean or overproduced” explains Katie, “and there’s something interesting in the instinctive nature of the first thing you sing, because you don’t really know what you’re singing until it comes out and it makes sense.” That psychographic-style process to writing informs a collection of songs that are at once both intuitive and fully-formed.

Check out the album's tracklist and watch the video for "Daylight" below.

Day By Day Tracklist:
01. Intro 
03. Daylight
04. Stars
05. Tried to Call
06. Help Me Help Myself
07. Day By Day
08. Different Time, Different Place
09. Portra
10. Nightfall

No comments:

Post a Comment