Wednesday, February 12, 2020

Tim Burgess Announces New LP 'I Love The New Sky', Airs "Empathy For The Devil"

Tim Burgess (The Charlatans) has announced the release of his fifth solo album 'I Love The New Sky'.

The the follow-up to 2018's As I Was Now, will arrive on May 22 through Bella Union, and according to the press release, "it features wonderfully connective songs of everyday minutiae and universal experience, of love and anger, of loss and belonging, all united by elaborate yet natural arrangements and an effortless but deceptively expert way with melody."

I Love The New Sky differs from its predecessors in that all twelve tracks were self-penned. I Love The New Sky lands somewhere between Paul McCartney's RAM and Brian Eno's Taking Tiger Mountain (By Strategy) and certainly that recipe covers both the all-pervasive tunefulness and high quality. Stylistically, though, it runs the widest gamut, from Empathy For The Devil's gospel style rockabilly skip, through to the sophisticated song-craft of Sweetheart Mercury and the Nilsson-esque Sweet Old Sorry Me, with the angst-y gravitas of Undertow, which Tim describes as “a mood-changer, influenced by 10cc.”

Pre-order the album here, check out the tracklist and the video for lead single "Empathy For The Devil", below.

I Love The New Sky Tracklisting:
01. Empathy For The Devil
02. Sweetheart Mercury
03. Comme D’Habitude
04. Sweet Old Sorry Me
05. The Warhol Me
06. Lucky Creatures
07. The Mall
08. Timothy
09. Only Took A Year
10. I Got This
11. Undertow

No comments:

Post a Comment