Wednesday, July 22, 2015

Starsailor Announce 'Good Souls: The Greatest Hits' With Two New Tracks

British indie rock band Starsailor have announced they will release 'Good Souls: The Greatest Hits', a compilation of their biggest hits and fan favourites, on September 18th via Parlophone.

The band's initial run of success saw both their 'Love is Here' debut album and the 2003 follow-up 'Silence is Easy' hit #2 on the charts as they raced to a total of 3 million sales. The album kicks off with the band’s three biggest hits in the shape of ‘Good Souls’ (#12), ‘Silence is Easy’ (#9) and ‘Alcoholic’ (#10). In addition to those tracks, the album features a further seven Top 40 hits, as well as deeper cuts such as ‘Tie Up My Hands’ and ‘Fidelity’ which became staples of the band’s live shows.

“It's been over 15 years since the band first formed and the songs still mean something to people,” says frontman James Walsh. “They still sing the words passionately back at us at gigs. We hear stories of how songs have soundtracked key moments in their lives. That's why we felt it was the right time to release this album - hopefully if the songs mean this much to our loyal fans this collection can help spread the word wider. People who know us for 'Four To The Floor' or 'Alcoholic' can delve a little deeper.”

The album features two brand new tracks which were recently recorded with producer Harry Rutherford at the famous Fisher Lane Studios. "’Give Up The Ghost’ came from the energy of being back together after so much time," explains Walsh. "It’s about not being ready to give up on something despite the challenges that you face."

The other new track is the ballad 'Hold On'. "The lyrics are about reassuring someone who has their life ahead of them and passing wisdom onto them," he adds. "We wanted to get an anthemic chorus which should get the crowd going."

Pre-order your copy here, check out the tracklist and re-visit "Silence Is Easy" below.

‘Good Souls: The Greatest Hits’ tracklisting:
01. Good Souls
02. Silence is Easy
03. Alcoholic
04. Give Up The Ghost (NEW TRACK)
05. In The Crossfire
06. Poor Misguided Fool
07. Four To The Floor
08. This Time
09. Fever
10. Born Again
11. Lullaby
12. Keep Us Together
13. Way To Fall
14. All The Plans
15. Hold On (NEW TRACK)
16. Tell Me It’s Not Over
17. Tie Up My Hands
18. Fidelity
19. Four To the Floor (Thin White Duke Mix) (BONUS TRACK)


No comments:

Post a Comment