Monday, January 14, 2013

OMD To Release New Album 'English Electric' In April

OMD have announced they will release their brand new album 'English Electric' on April 8th. 

According to the band, the album is an attempt to move forward, yet without losing their distinctive sound.  In May 2012, Andy McCluskey was interviewed on the BBC about the sound of English Electric and had the following to say about the new album:

"Lyrically, English Electric seems to be an exploration of how one's Utopian dreams often end in dystopic failure and regret. Musically, it uses many current sounds and styles. Dresden sounds very 'OMD,' Our System is like a Glitch style Stanlow/ROTT if that can be imagined. Helen of Troy sound like Georgia meets first album Depeche. Please Remain Seated, Decimal, and Atomic Ranch use programmed robotic voices and have a hint of Dazzle Ships to them."

English Electric will be released April 8th as CD, deluxe CD+DVD, heavyweight vinyl LP, collectors' tin boxset as well as digitally, and will be preceded by the single, "Metroland" which is scheduled to be released on March 25th.

Take a look at the tracklisting and a short promo video for the album track "Decimal" below.

01. Please Remain Seated
02. Metroland
03. Night Café
04. The Future Will Be Silent
05. Helen of Troy
06. Our System
07. Kissing The Machine
08. Decimal
09. Stay With Me
10. Dresden
11. Atomic Ranch
12. Final Song

No comments:

Post a Comment