Thursday, January 07, 2016

Smith Westerns' Cullen Omori Announces Debut Solo Album 'New Misery', Airs "Cinnamon" Video

Former Smith Westerns frontman Cullen Omori has announced he will release his solo debut LP 'New Misery' on March 18 via Sub Pop.

The album was recorded by Shane Stoneback (Sleigh Bells, Vampire Weekend, Fucked Up), and according to the press release,  "is an album that goes beyond the glam punch of the Smith Westerns to new sounds, new sources of inspiration, and greater self-awareness."

"I had this overwhelming feeling that perhaps the apex of my life both as a musician and as an individual would be relegated to five years in my late teens/early 20s," says Omori, who was launched into the music industry when the Smith Westerns, who started in high school in Chicago, became fast-rising indie stars. "This fear really forced me to work hard as to not see the Smith Westerns as an end but as a point along a bigger trajectory."

Find the tracklist, and music video for his new single "Cinnamon" (directed by Abigail Briley Bean) below. 

New Misery tracklist:

01. No Big Deal
02. Two Kinds
03. Hey Girl
04. And Yet the World Still Turns
05. Cinnamon
06. Poison Dart
07. Sour Silk
08. Synthetic Romance
09. Be a Man
10. LOM
11. New Misery

No comments:

Post a Comment