Thursday, March 26, 2015

New Entry: Ministry Air "The Game Is Over" Previously Unreleased Song From 1983

In April 18 (aka Record Store Day), Cleopatra Records will release Ministry Trax! Box, an expansive new Ministry collection.

The 7 disc/1 LP Ministry Trax! Box collects 12 inch singles, remixes, rarities, and previously unreleased material from Wax Trax!-era Ministry and Al Jourgensen-related side projects (Revolting Cocks, Pailhead, 1000 Homo DJs).

In late 1983, after completing the With Sympathy  tour, Ministry hunkered down at Pierce Arrow Recorders in Evanston, IL, to write and demo new music. Four songs were tracked in what would be just about the last gasp of the band’s first incarnation. The band’s singer/guitarist/keyboardist Alain Jourgensen, keyboardist Robert Roberts, and drummer Stephen George were joined by touring bassist Brad Hallen to work on the songs "The Game Is Over," "Let’s Be Happy," "Same Old Scene," and "Wait," none of which were ever officially released.

The collection features material previously released on the Twelve Inch Singles and Side Trax compilations, as well as the out-of-print Black Box — Wax Trax! Records: The First 13 Years box set. But there are previously unreleased demos, as well as long-sought material such as “I’ll Do Anything For You,” the With Sympathy-era track that Al Jourgensen recently shared online.

The box set also includes three expanded Revolting Cocks albums on CD, plus a bonus 12-inch, six-song vinyl live LP recorded by Ministry in Chicago in 1982. 

Listen to the brilliant "The Game Is Over (demo 1983)" below and pre-order  your box here.

No comments:

Post a Comment